Rango

Ah, here’s a movie I have been wishing to see for some time now. I just returned from the theater and must admit, it was a pretty darn good movie!

Now, I have to admit how I grew up on an intake of Pixar and Disney films, which addicted me to desiring animated films on a daily basis. That long faze still tries to cling to me to this day, and must have worked just enough to prompt me to go see Rango.

A funnily-clever story about a lizard who comes to the small western town of Dirt, and finds himself to be a hero among the townsfolk who are looking for a sheriff. The voice of our hero is none other then Johnny Depp; a talented actor who has had a successful career, starring in films like, Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (and its sequels), Edward Scissorhands, Ed Wood, Sweeney Todd, and more. It co-stars actors such as Isla Fisher, Alfred Molina, Bill Nighy, Abigail Breslin, and Ray Winstone. The characters are unique, cleverly written, and display an occasional act that would be framed as “cute”.

Moving on to the animated western’s quality, I have to say for ILM’s (Industrial Light & Magic–run by George Lucas) first attempt at animation…they did an excellent job! The colors of the scenery and characters were absolutely stunning and often lifelike! I was amazed at the detail in the imagery they were able to put up on the screen. Oh, and Gore Verbinski’s (all Pirates of the Caribbean films, The Ring, The Weatherman) was pretty good as well!–I really enjoyed the way he shot the actors on a basic sound stage with minimum props and sets, trying to stay away from motion capture (like the folks from Avatar did), and instead chose “emotion capture” as a reference for the animators. I give Gore a pat on the back for that idea! John Logan is a very gifted screen writer and I was pleased with how the story was set for an animated film geared both for adults and children.

…which brings us to my final opinion. If we look at Rango in a sheltered, and parental sense perhaps (and for all of you who should know, I am no parent. Its just an illustration), the film might seem a little more for adults. A lot to do with the humor of “The Spirit of the West”, which is constantly referred to throughout the movie–and I must say, is funny in the end–but I wouldn’t give the story away to any of yous (*wink). It did have a little bit of language on occasion and minimum crudeness to it, so the filmmakers obviously stretched the movie to a place where it was appropriate to all ages.

I must create a form of “rating” these films soon, and will get right on it after this! But all in all, a movie worth seeing and worth buying in the end. You should see this movie, my friends. Its a funny one indeed!

About Morgan

January 2016 Update: This blog is under reconstruction. Please be patient while we gradually remove old material, posts, and pages, and create new ones. Thank you.
This entry was posted in Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rango

  1. Lisa says:

    Congrats on your very professional blog! Excellent review. I have to say that I agree with you.

    Like

  2. Molly says:

    Very good review!! Took my kids to see it yesterday and we all enjoyed it. I agree with the language, it was not needed in my opinion especially in a film for “all” ages. All in all it was a good film and I would definitely watch it again. Loved the “Spirit of the West” by the way πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. but the spirit of the west was not voiced by the spirit of the west. what gives there? But yes, i loved this movie

    Like

    • vonhauer2 says:

      …whilst watching his part (and I can’t give much away on this blog, so I’ll be mild with my comment) on the big screen, I noticed it too. Unfortunate though it may be, we still can respect who they chose as The Spirit of the West, can we not? (*smile)

      Like

  4. Jake Gray- says:

    Love the blog man! πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

