Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (2001)

Rescued from the outrageous neglect of his aunt and uncle, a young boy with a great destiny proves his worth while attending Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.  A fantasy/family film about a young wizard, Harry Potter, experiencing his first adventurous year at the unique school where he will learn more about his gifts, his past, and his future.  The film stars Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson, Robbie Coltrane, Alan Rickman, Maggie Smith, Warwick Davis, and Richard Harris, with John Cleese.  Directed and produced by Chris Columbus.  (Running Time: 152 minutes)(Rated PG for some scary moments and mild language)

I haven’t read the books.  I’m guilty of that, and many of my friends who are fans of the series insist I need to read them.  But, I chickened-out there and skipped to the first movie today.  Those Potter fans out there can at least give me credit for going in order.  First impression: surprisingly impressed.

The story of Harry Potter…at least the basics…aren’t totally new and unfamiliar to the public’s eye, but, there is a clever twist here and there to the story of a Chosen One in another, similar world.  This world full of magic, both good and bad; where schools teach students how to use this power.  The story was approached with the objective to make people smile and become attached to the series that would follow after the first film.  Addicted?  You tell me.  The Harry Potter film franchise has brought in over a billion dollars at the box office and the books have climbed to record-breaking sales.  J.K. Rowling obviously loved the story and wanted kids to enjoy it the way she did.

This episode in the series was not focused on its acting; although, some of the kid actors did a real great job of acting “cute” at times, which sold its slight cheesiness.  The sets, makeup, and costumes were as important as the story was and made the universe believable.  Indeed a round of applause for production design!

Well, I better bring this short post to a close.

Hm…this is a hard one to decipher.  5 out of 7 stars?  I need to watch it again to decide, I think.

The film received positive reviews and was nominated for three Academy Awards, winning none.  It was also a box-office success, grossing over $974 million on a $125 million budget!  Its the ninth-highest-grossing film of all time.

I ought to inform all of you readers of reviews out there that I plan on continuing the series thus far.  Who knows, I might change my mind after the second time.  Eh, I’ll let you know as I progress through the series, my dear friends.  Until then, have a good one!

About Morgan

January 2016 Update: This blog is under reconstruction. Please be patient while we gradually remove old material, posts, and pages, and create new ones. Thank you.
This entry was posted in Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

