Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2007)

The Order of the Phoenix is a fantasty film, continuing the Harry Potter series.  With warnings about Voldemort’s return, the Ministry of Magic targets Harry and Dumbledore as instigators of conspirators of a plot to over through the order.  Harry begins secretly meeting with other students to teach them defense against the dark arts when a cruel, strict teacher comes from the Ministry to “restore” order in Hogwarts.  Starring Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson, Micheal Gambon, Alan Rickman, Gary Oldman, Helena Bonham Carter, Brenden Gleeson, and Ralph Fiennes.  Directed by David Yates, and written by Michael Goldenberg.  (Running Time: 138 minutes)(Rated PG-13 for sequences of fantasy violence and frightening images)

Its been a little while since I wrote about a Harry Potter movie, that being the first one.  So, I better sum up my reviews since last time I penned about the boy wizard.

Harry has begun to grow up, both in personality, literally, and magically.  The maturity of the films have been impressive, with a slightly darker downhill sweep each film thus far.  I, frankly, enjoyed The Goblet of Fire when we were introduced to the Dark Lord (oops! spoiler alert!!), and I liked the introduction to his evil, twisted ways.  So, the series has been pretty good thus far, although I won’t be able to give a full review until I finish all the films.  That is the case, so, get over it!—(winky face).

Okay, so the Order of the Phoenix:  It began with a little mystery to who this Order is, but slowly you are introduced to the society and get a little more insight on the Ministry of Magic.  The movie begins with you asking a few questions, though, but if you are patient enough, they will be answered by the end of the two-hour-plus flick.  About the same “darkness” as The Goblet of Fire, with this one being a good take on the book’s core, I hear from crazed fans I know quite well.  So I think its safe to conclude that the Order was a well-written, generously adapted version of J.K. Rowling’s novel.

Already, I’m going to bring this review to a close.  I should repeat this once again: I won’t have a full review of the Harry Potter series until I complete it.  I’m sorry I have to keep you in suspense, but bear with me; I’ll finish the series someday.  I hear they just keep getting better and better…

What do I rate this one?  Lets see, the first Harry Potter I gave 5 stars.  This one I think I’ll give the same for the moment.

The movie did very well at the box office, being one of the highest grossing films of all time, pouring in over $939 million bucks worldwide.  It also gained very positive reviews from the critics, being one of the most favored of the series.

Yes, I’ll keep up with Mr. Potter for the time being.  Its a pretty clever, different series I’d like to see end perfectly, and not just “well”, you know?  I wish I knew of these movies a couple into the series, so I could have said as the series became more and more popular: “Mr. Potter, our new celebrity…” in Severus Snape’s perfectly delivered line.

About Morgan

January 2016 Update: This blog is under reconstruction. Please be patient while we gradually remove old material, posts, and pages, and create new ones. Thank you.
This entry was posted in Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

